100-days challenge – Days 1 to 25

25 February 2014 – The start of my 100 days of gratitude / happiness challenge … 

Day 1:  My morning walk along the coastal path.  It’s so peaceful and relaxing listening the the birds.

Day 2:  Even though I don’t have kids of my own, the funny things that kids say is always guaranteed to produce a smile.  It may be something overheard in the supermarket, an ad on TV or an e-mail doing the rounds.   This is an ad I saw toady about what to do in the event of an earthquake … I just love the part about earthquakes causing salami’s (instead of tsunami’s).   It makes me smile each time I see it – just love the innocence and wild imaginations!   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrUpc9qFvWA

Day 3:  Grateful for home-cooked comfort food. A tasty meal and a full tummy really can make you feel better!

Day 4: My FurKid. I’m really grateful that I was able to bring him with me when we moved. Many people are not this lucky and have to give their pets away when they emigrate.

Day 5: Happiness is … A hot shower after a bad day.

Day 6: Grateful that I didn’t break any bones or sprain any joints. After what could have been a very nasty fall, I walked away with 8 bruises and a very stiff body. I feel extremely lucky … it could have been a lot worse!

Day 7: Painkillers and a hot bath to ease sore muscles. I haven’t appreciated a long soak in the tub this much in a long time.

Day 8: Grateful for the make-up training I did in SA (both courses) and the knowledge that I’ve gained over the years since then. It really makes me appreciate what I know when I’m forced to sit and listen to an unqualified person spouting utter rubbish, while they believe that every word they’re saying is true!

Day 9: Grateful for the wonderful staff and nurses at the nearby A&E. No matter how busy they are, they always greet you with a friendly smile and are extremely helpful!

Day 10: Happiness is … A surprise mail delivery. I entered a competition and ended up winning a lipstick! My prize was delivered this morning.

Day 11: Grateful for my little garden. It may be small, but gives me great pleasure and I haven’t bought cherry tomatoes in weeks!

Day 12: Happiness is … Long walks on the beach with my husband.

Day 13: Lazy Sunday afternoons – curled up on the couch with my husband, a cup of coffee and a good book.

Day 14: Grateful for a handful of true friends in my life. Even though they’re far away, they still make the effort to answer my e-mails and keep in contact. I miss seeing you guys!

Day 15: Grateful for my car and that I am able to drive and don’t have to rely on others for lifts, etc.

Day 16: Early morning cuddles from my Catty … I know winter is coming when he starts sleeping on the bed!

Day 17: Watching the sun rise. It’s so peaceful at that time of morning and always reminds me of my wedding day … I woke up early that morning and with all the wedding nerves couldn’t go back to sleep, so I grabbed a cup of camomile tea and watched the sun rise over the sea! It’s a wonderful memory that will stay with me forever!

Day 18: Grateful for technology. The “chat” I had today with a good friend of mine would not have been possible without it. We may be half a world apart and haven’t seen each other for years, but the friendship feels as strong as ever, if not stronger!

Day 19: Grateful that we’re warm and dry, while Cyclone Lusi passes by.

Day 20: Happiness is … Beachcombing after a storm! I found some beautiful (whole) sand dollar shells.

Day 21: Grateful that we had no damage after Cyclone Lusi, only a messy garden full of leaves!

Day 22: Grateful for my little garden. There’s nothing like having fresh rosemary, thyme or mint whenever I need it!

Day 23: Grateful that I have many hobbies that I can “lose myself” in … it’s a great, productive way for my mind to escape from unpleasant or stressful things that I’d rather not think about or deal with right now. Almost like a type of meditation.

Day 24: Happiness is … Playtime with my Catty. He’s such a playful cat and watching him reminds me that joy can be found in the simplest things!

Day 25: Grateful for another day. I think most of us take it for granted that we just happen to wake up each morning, without giving it much thought.

Leave a Reply

